What's new
British Ordnance Collectors Network

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

120mm prac round with plastic driving band.

Chubbster

Hi all,

I have acquired a 120mm prac round which has a plastic removable driving band. Is this so the round could be reused? I have another 120mm prac round that has a brass driving band. Is the plastic driving band a later type? I'm new to ordnance and not sure now to date them.

Thanks
alex

Hi Alex! Anyway that you can post a few photos. It would help with the ID. Guessing the "plastic" driving band is really nylon?

Jason

Jason,

Yeah its white nylon, not sure how to post picture from my phone! It has RLB 78 stamped on the body the lower body and the steel slug inside. Does this mean 1978?

Cheers
alex

Not a 100% sure of the meaning of the RLB 78 stamp. Could mean the year? Does the nylon band freely rotate or spin around the projectile or is it fixed to it so that it does not spin? If you take a picture of it with your Iphone, then e-mail the photo so you can put it on your real computer, you can then upload the picture to photobucket.com to then post here. I am sure there may be a easier way.

Jason

If your adding images to site could you try to use the forums imaging software,as weve found that quite often images from external image hosting sites photobucket etc tend to be deleted and leave posts without images thereby making them useless to other users..
Thanks
Spotter

I would suggest that RLB is the Royal Ordnance Factory (Later Royal Ordnance Plc) at Birtley. This was the UK's last major projectile manufacturing plant.

Hi Alex,