What's new
British Ordnance Collectors Network

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anyone know about Japanese Swords?

MissingSomething

Is this a WW2 issue sword?

[ame="http://s842.photobucket.com/albums/zz348/wolf_of_buddha/?action=view&current=detail2.jpg"]detail2.jpg picture by wolf_of_buddha - Photobucket[/ame]

Don't think so

I'm no expert on Japanese swords but I have owned a few and I'm pretty certain this is not a WW2 Jap sword the handles look like China/Phillipines cheap knock off crap especially the smaller blade inside the handle no self respecting Samurai Would use a sword where during combat you may have your handle come apart at the wrong time
But the blade looks like folded steel or it could be acid etched to look that way and it has not been sharpened to produce the wavey line
Well thats what I reckon anyway and I have been wrong before about things
Regards 25thapril

Japanese swords

Hi there, :tinysmile_twink_t:
I'm no expert but just looking at it would make me believe that it is not "fair dikum". I have a NCO sword captured in Bougainville and it is complete with arsenal marks etc. The kind that one sees on headstamps etc. The tip of the scabbord even has a wear mark near the bottom where it has rubbed on the sargent majors boot from slogging it along jungle trails.
If you want some pics just let me know and I will post some.

While reading a book on the Australian 31/51st Infantry Battalion that fought on Bougainville it was interesting to note that the rascals got up to lots of enterprising tricks in their spare time, even making fake Japanese swords from jeep springs etc and hocking them of to American GIs as the real Macoy. Interesting to know that fakes were around even then. Here's the quote from the book;