What's new
British Ordnance Collectors Network

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Military radio sets

Robert B.

Hope this is the correct spot to post this!!

I am a licenced amateur (M6GLD) and wondered if any board members had military radio sets in their collections. My two contributions are both post-war VHF FM sets. First the british Wireless Set 88 (The last of the 'WS' classifications) from 1947 and made by ECKO in Southend-on-sea. 1/4 watt output good for 3-4 miles in open terrain.

Second is the american AN/PRC 6 of korea and early vietnam vintage. All dated components are stamped 1953, making this one of the first batches that went straight into theatre. maximum output is in the order of 350mW (~1/3 W) but this soon drops of to 200mW as the batteries get used. Range on the battle tape antenna is in the order of a mile and a half. This set however is modified for Morse Only and has had contacts out to 9 miles (albeit under highly favourable line-of-site conditions).

Unfortunately I sold the R107 reciever some time ago, but this 96Ibs (57 Kg) brute was worth its weight in gold. A general-purpose communications set for fixed or mobile use, the R107 covered 1.2-17.6 mhz MF and HF in AM and CW modes, and could be operated under SSB if you had patience and a very steady hand. I made my first licenced contacts with it and a single-valve morse transmitter. If ever you find one, get hold of it!

Attachments

• DSC_0149.JPG
    DSC_0149.JPG
    74.9 KB · Views: 31
  • DSC_0148.JPG
    DSC_0148.JPG
    79.3 KB · Views: 31
  • ANPRC6.jpg
    ANPRC6.jpg
    88.6 KB · Views: 35
  • LWMWHF SWL receiving station pre M6GLD.jpg
    LWMWHF SWL receiving station pre M6GLD.jpg
    96.6 KB · Views: 29
  • dscf0122.jpg
    dscf0122.jpg
    92.1 KB · Views: 33
radios