What's new
British Ordnance Collectors Network

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Need info on Tiger Tank Round

Saaismail

Hi Folks - Hoping you can help me with any information about this round? I'm new to this but learning along the way. I'd be interested in what you can tell me about these pictures. I've never seen a projectile "tip" like this before. Is that some sort of protective cap that went on in place of a fuse, or is this another type of fuse? I'd also be interested in any info you could give based on the markings on the crate and label as to what exactly this was? Any comments on it's approximate value would be appreciated too...thanks!

Attachments

• vertical.jpg
    vertical.jpg
    51.5 KB · Views: 0
  • WP_20140115_001.jpg
    WP_20140115_001.jpg
    52.5 KB · Views: 1
  • WP_20140115_009.jpg
    WP_20140115_009.jpg
    54.7 KB · Views: 0
  • WP_20140115_0041.jpg
    WP_20140115_0041.jpg
    60 KB · Views: 0
Last edited by a moderator:
The AP shell without the ballistic cap has he narrow drivebands, so it is for the Tiger1, or a FLAK gun. The box is marked for a sprgr (HE), so not for this Pzrg.

So, what they said is that the thin sheet metal ballistic cap is missing from the projectile. The projectile is an Armor Piercing High Explosive one that would have a base fuze. The case is for the King Tiger, but the projectile with smaller rotating bands is for the smaller 88 round that was used by the Tiger I tanks and the FLAK 18 and 36 guns. AP ammo was issued to FLAK guns so they could be lowered down and used in an antitank role.

The crate is for a high explosive nose-fuzed round. So it is a collection of parts from various sources that don't all go together.