What's new
British Ordnance Collectors Network

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Please help identify this projectile.

Bob60

I am new to this board so please excuse me if the answer to this question should be obvious to all but a novice. I am a novice.

Story is that this came back from France after the Great War.

It looks like it is too big for a 105.

What is it? Where do I get the correct inert fuse?

The wooden ruler is in inches and the plastic one in cm.

IMG_6399.jpg

IMG_6410.jpg

IMG_6412.jpg

Your bullet is a 4.7 inch Gun Model of 1906 or Howitzer Model of 1913 shrapnel projectile of WWI vintage. It is very characteristic of shape and the groove at the base of the projectile and the fuzewell details are the key identifiers. I have attached some photos of a sectioned projectile like yours next to a slightly different variation. Most of the 4.7 inch U.S. projectiles (there are 4 types, Gas, Nose fuzed HE, Base fuzed AP-HE, and shrapnel) have bases with just two crimping grooves like the black projectile. But for some reason there is a variation of the shrapnel that has the big groove like yours. I have the sectioned example and a fired one like yours.

As you can see in the sectioned projo, these are filled with lead balls for shrapnel, that sit on top of more than a pound of black powder and a pusher plate. A filled projectile weights close to 50 Lbs.