What's new
British Ordnance Collectors Network

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Unknown Fuze

Duvalz

Hello All,

This is my first time posting... I have a fuze and having troubles identifying it with 100% certainity.

Marked: Fuze, Rockets, VT, M403 (Hard to read) ... the manufacturer year appears to be 2-48 (1948)

After googling... the best I can find is http://64.78.11.86/uxofiles/mulvaney/techdatasheets/5-IN-HVAR.pdf but it does not show photos of the fuze.

I am wondering why an aircraft rocket would have a Variable Time fuze... and when would it be set? I had one co-worker advise that maybe it was used for anti tank... to explode above the target. But I am thinking it was used for an aerial bomb... but cannot find it or maybe I am wrong and it is indeed for the HVAR.

DSCN1619.JPGDSCN1618.JPGDSCN1620.JPG

Any assistance is appreciated. It also has a propeller which is why I was thinking an aerial bomb Fuze.

VT for air burst above the ground as rocket approached, very common and this fuze was pretty much like its sister VT used it bombs too. Basically detonated above target to send down a load of frag. Even in 2.75" rockets there was a VT fuze. FVI you won't find VT fuzes used in anti tank projectiles or rockets, they will always be impact fuzes.