Welcome to the Inert Ordnance Collectors.
  • Login:

Hybrid View

Images
    Thanks

Pneumatic Artillery for Avalanche Control on US Railroads

I work as a consultant for companies that ship by railroad in the US. I noticed this article on the Union Pacific web site when I logged in this morning.

https://www.up.com/aboutup/community...her-2-2-21.htm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KsGTWXeOIuU

2. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to M8owner For This Useful Post:

SG500 (5th February 2021), sksvlad (24th August 2021), ydnum303 (4th February 2021)

ORDNANCE APPROVED/Premium Member
    Thanks
    Thanked 4,013 Times in 1,157 Posts
    About 5-6 years ago someone contacted me after seeing a sign on a mountain bike trail in Colorado warning of possible duds, with a bizarre picture of a round. I'd never seen one, and spent a week or so hunting on the internet before I tracked this company down. Speaking with the owner I attempted to purchase a round, he instead sold me most of his personal collection, about 6-8 pieces including the current round, many of his developmental items, a Swiss round and an Italian round. Many of the pieces are very simple, in some cases just a rock blasting cast booster (pentolite) with fins and a nose. He identified that they had had a lot of difficulty with the development of the fuze, and at one time apparently a park ranger was killed in a mishap.

I'll try and take a picture or two of the pieces this weekend. Some of them may have already been used on a thread, I don't remember.
    All dug or live ordnance shown in my posts is under EOD control and has been or will be dealt with accordingly by EOD personnel

Images
    Thanks