Welcome to the Inert Ordnance Collectors.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    HONOURED MEMBER RIP
    Images
    Thanks

possible - British Torpedo Gyroscope? help needed

This is a recent find,

I bought it as a British Torpedo Gyroscope, however I cannot be certain, hopefully someone can help identify it. - Torpedo gyro or not it would be nice to find out exactly what it is.
    here are some pictures.....

regards Kev

P1221227.jpgP1221228.jpgP1221229.jpgP1221230.jpgP1221231.jpg

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to butterfly For This Useful Post:

apfsds (23rd January 2015), beihan62 (23rd January 2015)

Thanks
    Beautiful specimen, Butterfly!

I have been collecting torpedo gyroscopes for about 15 years now. I have specimens from 1902 to present day with 8 countries represented and I have never seen this one. That being said, it does look like a torpedo gyro to me. It looks to be compressed gas driven? If so, I'm guessing it is pretty old. VERY VERY NICE!

Jason

4. The Following User Says Thank You to apfsds For This Useful Post:

butterfly (23rd January 2015)

HONOURED MEMBER RIP
    Images
    Thanks
    Hi Jason,
    thanks for your reply.........I'm even more curious now.

I read your thread, link below, and I can see some similarities in yours and the one I have.
    First of all the lettering AA - I dont know the significance of this but it appears on both your British example and this one.
    Secondly, there is a 'disc' enscribed, what appears to be 0 - 9 in 180degrees - 0-9 in Red (port?) and 0-9 in Black? (Starboard?). On my example it is beneath the 'sphere' , on yours it is above. (see photos below) (I dont know what this is for but its common to both.

http://www.bocn.co.uk/vbforum/thread...pedo-Gyroscope

Finally I have added some photos of detail which you may recognise for positive ID as a Torpedo Gyro. (apologies for the quality, snapshots taken under artifical light, but you may get some ideas from them)