What's new
British Ordnance Collectors Network

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

35mm Oerlikon

VettelS

I'm new to ordnance, and recently bought a 35mm Oerlikon shell.

I've read through this thread an my shell is exactly the same (same stamps on base and primer also).

Does this mean that my shell is also a replica? The little sticker that came with my shell reads "Oerlikon 35mm shell fired in captured anti-aircraft guns from Falklands War (1982)".

I also read this thread. The stamp on the base of the case is the same as mine, but the primer stamp is different.

VettelS,

The casing in that first thread is a genuine one, the PROJECTILE on that shell was a replica !
So i think your casing might be a good one (but determining it on a picture would be easier)

Last edited:
Thanks for your help. Attached are photos of the shell.

Also, having read that other thread, I know that the "84" on the base refers to the year in which it was made. Given that the Falklands War was in 1982, this must mean that the shell does not actually originate from the Falklands (contrary to what I was lead to believe), right?

Secondly I've just noticed some very small writing etched onto the side of the case. I'm guessing this has nothing to do with the history of the shell- more likely clumsy stock-keeping by the shop I bought it from. Correct me if I'm wrong, and/or if you know what this means.

And thirdly, I've been looking around on other threads and have gleaned that the blue paint on the projectile means that it is HE. Am I correct?

S1032704.jpgS1032705.jpgS1032708.JPG

Last edited:
The colour blue represents a practice round for training not HE. The projectile is a replica in a genuine case.

Darren