What's new
British Ordnance Collectors Network

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

4.5 in mk 2 howitzer 1917 shell case

paddy

Hi,

Sorry i have no knowledge but. I would be really interested to get help to find out more about a shell case someone gave me. Can anyone help please

Its a 4.5 in 1917 ( mk 2 i think)
It has a number of marks. including
T

R. and seperate L ( or R.L.)
P
CF
S113
7/17 AND 9/17

4.5 how (1) (Medium).JPG

It has a lot of dints are these to do with its miltary use or has someone hit it with something else later ? How do you know if it has been fired ?

All the best

Paddy

Paddy,
Whatever has happened to it during its lifetime, it certainly has suffered!
The primer "appears" to have been struck going by your photograph, but a view looking into the case would show more details of the primer...the "petals" would be blown outwards on a fired example and "closed" on an unfired one. This applies to the examples in my collection certainly.

Bockscar.

Paddy,
Whatever has happened to it during its lifetime, it certainly has suffered!
The primer "appears" to have been struck going by your photograph, but a view looking into the case would show more details of the primer...the "petals" would be blown outwards on a fired example and "closed" on an unfired one. This applies to the examples in my collection certainly.

Bockscar.

Thanks very much for your comments, does the attached show the right view ? P1040258 (Medium).JPG
looks neat rather than blown out ? but not sure.

Hope you had a good new years and christmas

all the best

paddy

Paddy,

Your case was made by Royal Laboratories, Woolwich.

The CF denotes the case has been loaded one full charge of smokeless powder.

TimG

Paddy,