What's new
British Ordnance Collectors Network

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

any bofors experts out there

tomsk

Premium Member
ive bought this supposedly drill round today and im not sure of its authenticity the dimentions are correct for a L60 round but ive been caught out before with with someones knock ups
can someone have a look at the pictures and let me know if i have been duped once again.

thanks

tomsk

Attachments

• bofors.jpg
    bofors.jpg
    93.8 KB · Views: 172
  • drill 40.jpg
    drill 40.jpg
    93 KB · Views: 139
  • drill prim.jpg
    drill prim.jpg
    97 KB · Views: 148
Hi Tomsk,
I am not a Bofors expert, but i have seen more than one of these before and belive it to be correct. But i am sure one of our members will be able to say for sure.
Best regards Weasel.

Hi Tomsk
I`m afraid I think that it is unlikely that this is a drill round.
It is a kosher 40/L60 case but the projectile is not right.
The second from left is a pukka drill round.
Genuine ones usually have holes, dimples or gnurling on them so they can be identified by feel as drill ones (at night) and obviously by sight in daylight.
Does the proj pul out ofthe case?
I have seen pics of ones with wooden projs but still with drilled cases
Still an interesting item & I may well be wrong

oh shit i may have to kick myself after all
thanks for the input hicky

According to Hogg in British & American Artillery of WW2, the Bofors HE round should weigh 4.79lbs (2.17kg), your drill round should be about the same weight.
I have a WW2 dated steel and hardwood drill round representing the AP loading which weighs 2.091kg.

Bofors Drill