What's new
British Ordnance Collectors Network

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bird strikes...

V40

On a more serious note after Jeeeesy's quite funny post, at least to me it was because I was a Pilot at one time. Like I stated before, on the more serious side though by the 1960's the number of bird strikes had quite reached the double mark. Anytime you cannot avoid any birds, ducks, or Eagles in flight you are going to immediately start feeling a doomed like feeling. This is because in a jet propulsion airplane you have to not only remember about the wind screen but bird hits into the engine can simply be catastrophic to the airplane, especially in a single engine versus a twin engine airplane.

This happened to a Thunderbird pilot that was practicing at Burke-Lake Front airport where they hold an air show every year on Labor Day. This is the exact same spot ewhere by which the old Cleveland Air Races were held at during the 1920's and 1930'sair show a few years back when I was a teenager. The pilot did a low fast crossing pattern along the sea wall and hit an Albatross immediately causing the single engine F-16 to flame out and catch on fire the pilot immediately pulled up as far as he could go then when his airplane was fully engulfed with fire he pulled the yellow and black colored handles and out he went. The only problem was the fact that he had ejected too close to the rocks and ended up breaking his neck and dying instantly. Everything else worked to profession.