What's new
British Ordnance Collectors Network

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cleaning ammunition

jerseymic

Premium Member
Hi Everyone,
I am new to collecting and have recently joined your excellent forum. I would like to collect small arms ammunition and I ask your advice whether I give cartridges a mild clean and leave any patina, or do I clean and polish back to brightness?
Any advice you can give this new boy on cleaning, preservation and storage would be much appreciated.

Best wishes,

Mike.

P.S. The collections I have seen on this forum make my eyes water!

Hi Mike,
How much cleaning you want to do is down to personal preference really. Some collectors like to just give a quick wipe over and leave as is and others like to polish up and then let dull down naturally.

Darren

Hi Darren,
Thank you for your advice, I didn't know if giving a cartridge a good clean and polish would ruin any value that might be in a rarer item.
It is always a bit daunting when one starts a new hobby, but being able to ask advice from experienced guys like yourself, I hopefully won't make too many mistakes.

Many thanks,
Best wishes,

Mike.

Cartridge cleaning

Hi Tigbrand.

Thanks for the link, looks like I have a lot to learn!
Where in the UK does one find bronze wool at a reasonalble price.
I Googled it but everything I found was very expensive, is that just the way it is for this stuff?

Best wishes,

Mike.

Hi I am a small arms ammo collector too not quite a novice but no expert either you will find a lot of help on here, anything special you are collecting or looking for. I like tgive my stuff a good clean and let it age naturally I use my case tumbler for a lot of cases but anything really special do it by hand.

Richard.

Last edited:
Cleaning Cartridges