What's new
British Ordnance Collectors Network

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Common Rare rounds and Rare Common rounds

RichardB

Premium Member
Ok, I agree, a slightly perplexing title, but hopefully this will make sense to a few of you..
I've been collecting tank and anti-tank rounds from WW2 for just over 5 years, and in that time, its become fairly obvious what rounds are hard to find and what rounds are fairly easy to find....for example

The two most commonly produced tanks of the war were the T-34 and M4 Sherman totaling over 125,000 vehicles combined. Yet I have only ever seen in person 1x 76.2mm UBR-354 APHE standard rounds for the T-34 and only a few more 75mm M61 APHE Sherman standard rounds. Where did they all go, is it because they're the most well known and everyone wants one?

Conversely there are some rounds that you'd think would be harder to find, because they're either exotic materials (eg tungsten core ) or limited use, are relatively simple to find a 8,8cm Kwk43, UBR-354P (Arrowhead), 28/20mm PzB41, 17Pdr APDS. Ive even seen more 12,8cm Pzgr. 43 than I have Sherman M4 rounds....so back to my original subject title, here's a list of common rare rounds and rare common rounds...

Can anyone explain why, can we add to the list?

Common "rare" rounds

• Russian 76.2mm UBR-354P arrowhead
  • German 8,8cm Kw.k43 with Pzgr39/43
  • British 6 PR APDS
  • German 28/20mm PzB41
Rare "common" rounds

• US/British 75mm M61 APHE
  • Russian 76.2mm UBR-354 APHE

Is this phenomenon in my imagination, or related to locale?
Id love to hear what people think.

Rch

Hi Richard,
I personally witnessed several thousand war time unfired 75mm AP-T(solid shot) Sherman projectiles being scrapped in a local scrapyard within the last seven years.