What's new
British Ordnance Collectors Network

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Damaged Weapons for film use

sonicninja

Hello everyone,
I am a Foley Engineer in central London which if you didn't know involves the recording of sound effects for TV and Film. I both record SFX and keep our props in good order often replacing props and buying new items.

We work on a lot of primetime tv which requires us to re-record many gun sounds including gun movement in hands, gun grabs and gun pickups from a table which are only a few examples. We rarely record gun magazine clicks, gun cocks or rounds into magazine/chamber as these FX are usually covered by another SFX department.

Anyway, I am looking for some deactivated guns for permanent use in the Foley studio. I thought this was the best place to ask for some direction as I'm finding it hard to find anything online that is within my price range.....which is where this gets difficult.

Basically, I'm a bit of a weapon fan (not an expert in any way) and am looking to get any guns myself as the studio wont supply them. The condition is irrelevant as they only have to sound good. I'm after a magazine loading pistol and a larger rifle such as an AK47.

Anyone have any suggestions as to where I might start? Also, as I am in the Film business where would I stand in terms of the VCR act?

Any help would be great.

Thankyou

Keith

Best advice I could give you is the Local Police.

They would know the ins and out of the law obviously and what you would require to their use, storage, and relevant paperwork. Furthermore, they would also know where you could legally get hold of such items etc.

Hope this helps.