What's new
British Ordnance Collectors Network

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Live rounds found marked R^L 40, .380 II

Stuntman

Hi all, I'm a noob

my stepfather dug up a couple dozen bullets today, the end is silver coloured and the casing is gold coloured. About 2 to 2.5cm long with a fairly rounded end. Around the base of the casing is inscribed R^L (r then an arrow pointing up, then l), 40, then .380 followed by II (roman numeral 2). Have tried searching but little luck. What, when and from where are these little fellers?

Many thanks in advance!

They would probably be .380 revolver rounds. If they are complete ( with the round nosed bullet inserted into the gold coloured cartridge case) you may have live rounds - the possession of which may be unlawful. If they were dug up then there is a high probability they are live. If you suspect this please surrender them to your local police.

Caution !

Sadly at the end of the war a lot of army units were instructed to scrap/destroy large amounts of Small Arms Ammunition and the best method is usually to burn small stuff but in those days it was far more expedient to just dig a shallow hole and chuck the stuff in.

The result is that very large amounts of SAA are being uncovered all the time-just remember thay are just as lethal now as they were the day they were buried, perhaps even more so in some instances.
Play it safe and do as "exat 808" suggests.

.380 Mark II

Whilst agreeing with the foregoing posts, let me answer the questions you asked.