What's new
British Ordnance Collectors Network

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Unidentified WW1 Fuze

Doug

Hi

The Canadian War Museum where I work as a volunteer has the unidentified fuze pictured here.

The provenance on the fuze links it to "Picked up on a battlefield in Belgium in 1916. It has no identifying marks, but is a large fuze. Possibly German.

Any help in identifying the fuze and its associated equipment would be appreciated.

Thanks

Doug

Attachments

• DSCN2129.jpg
    DSCN2129.jpg
    93.3 KB · Views: 68
  • DSCN2130.jpg
    DSCN2130.jpg
    91.6 KB · Views: 60
chinese hat

Known as the chinese hat, this Russian fuze was used on large shells above 95mm. funny that it shows up in Belgium???..Dano
MORE TO FOLLOW SHORTLY

Last edited:
30 second

The Russian "Chinese hat" is a 30 second fuze used on shells 95mm and up. Brass and aluminum Russian fuze, graduated from 0 to 30 seconds with 0.2 second steps, Cyrillic markings yD & K; characteristic "Chinese hat" where the percussion system rod pierced with a hole for the safety pin was hidden. Top hole also designed for emission hole for the combustion gasses emitted by the percussion igniting system. Time and percussion with classic parts, designed in France. The pyrotechnic percussion igniter mechanism, with starter-bearer inertia rod, was hitting the fixed needle at shot departure. The flame then was communicated to a two-discs timing system, then to the main charge located in the fuze tail. The latter charge could also be ignited at the shot arrival bt a classical percussion inertia system located in the tail...Dano

Attachments

• Picture 134.jpg
    Picture 134.jpg
    49.1 KB · Views: 31