What's new
British Ordnance Collectors Network

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Unknown French (?) Cartridge.

roadrunner404

DSC02880.jpgDSC02878.jpgHello All, this is my first attempt at putting a question on here; hope that someone can help me out with the identification of the following:

Possible French cartridge, has been cut down for as Trench Art so it's a gap filler for the moment. I think it's a First World War piece, base is rimmed with a diameter 54mm. The case is parallel for the 150mm length where it has been cut off. Headstamps are at 12 o'clock - 'CX L', 9 o'clock - 'M' & 6 o'clock - 'VN'. Percussion primer is 5.5mm diameter. Any help appreciated. Regards, Ian.

What is the rim diameter? Does not look French to me by the way. Maybe UK 6 pounder form WW1 tank?

Hi there Hoeksel, thank you for your reply. The rim diameter is 54mm which is smaller than the British 6 pdr you mentioned as I have one of those. The case does not carry the usual British headstamp markings such as Lot No, Gun used for, Date, Manufacturer, etc. however I realise that early British cases didn't have some of those details. It has been engraved with the word 'Cherbourg' above some decorative engravings which again, leads me to believe it is of French origin. Thanks again, regards, Ian.

In my lists I can find some cases with a 54mm rim and a length > 150mm, but they are incorrect (modern German experimental, US exerimental) or unknown....the unknown being a 50x184R54,5 mm case.